Merry Christmas

Well, this’ll be my last post of the year – I’m (b)logging off for the holidays (geddit?).

Just like last year, I’ll be staying with the Leivas over Christmas, consuming my own body weight in turkey, ham, potato salad, and rice & beans.  And drinking my own weight in dark rum.  Then hopefully, finding the nearest couch and falling asleep, waking up just in time to do it all over again.

Then for New Year, I’m heading down to Placencia (on what I pray will be a less-harrowing bus ride than the last time), for a few days of laying on one of the best beaches in the country, swimming in the Caribbean Sea, diving, snorkelling (again, hopefully not like last time), eating fresh fish, drinking yet more rum, and continuing to stay as horizontal as possible.

Such was the success of the BCVI’s Summer Camp in July, they’ve decided to have another (smaller) one in January, while the children are still on holiday.  And there’s more IT training scheduled.  So first thing next year, I’ll be back with the kids (court orders notwithstanding), guiding impressionable young minds into the nether regions of the Interweb, and giving the next generation the benefit of my extensive knowledge of computers, i.e. showing them how to press CTRL-ALT-DEL when nothing else works (for an example of just how complex and demanding IT work can be, go here).

If any of my readers are ever planning on visiting Belize, the web is a great resource (and I’ve helpfully put links on the right-hand side of this very page!).  And it’s not just me who’s filling up cyberspace with information – my ex-colleague-cum-drumming-school-manager Ruth has a great blog full of useful titbits, and fellow Belize City-based volunteers Holger and Kerstin have an account of their on-going adventures.  And unlike my ramblings, their blogs aren’t padded out with pages of tangential waffle, dripping with sarcastic bitterness, or full of dubious humour.  And while I’m mentioning people in foreign places writing about their adventures, I really should give what the young people call a ‘shout out’ to my mate Tony, one of the few people on Earth who makes me look un-travelled, and a man who’s cycled (that’s right, cycled) from England to Ethiopia, to learn all about coffee.  Respect due to him, his writing, and his leg muscles.

According to my stats, there are 110 people following my blog.  This level of fandom isn’t quite in the same league as the 2,380 sweet-toothed followers of Washington DC’s Cupcake Queen, nor is it anywhere near the mind-boggling 1,605,000 people who inexplicably follow the world’s biggest douche-bag on Twitter.  But it’s a start.  Thanks to everyone who’s taken the time to read my blog, comment on it, or follow it on Facebook.  And a special thanks to Brian, Chris, Deb, Gary, John, Mel, Rob, Ruth, Steve, Tony and Viv, who’ve gone so far as to sign up for email updates, so they can be notified every time I post.  I hope it was worth it!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all, wherever you may be.  Have a great 2012.

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Dearest JP,

    A Merry Xmas to you too. I suspect you’ll be warmer than I will but that’s fine. I will almost certainly consume more food and alcohol than you as well to make up for it.

    Look forward to hearing from you in the new year…

    Yours, as always,
    SJC (aka Chris)

    Like

    • SJC,

      I’m already in the holiday spirit – looking forward to Yaksmas Eve, preparing for Yak Shaving Day (by hanging soiled nappies from the mantlepiece), and filling my uncle’s boots with coleslaw.

      Merry Crock O’Christmas!

      RH.

      Like

Leave A Comment

